2017 Basketball Ballarat Awards Night

Wednesday August 16 saw Basketball Ballarat hold their Annual Awards Dinner recognising volunteers, clubs and junior and senior players’ contributions to a successful past 12 months.

The night started with a recap of the Junior Elite Teams past 12 month and the introduction of two new awards.

The Karen Ashby GRIT award is presented to two Junior Elite athletes (Miners and Rush) who have exhibited special qualities in the past season.

Both these athletes need to have demonstrated positive examples of program culture, exhibited genuine sportsmanship and gratitude, shown an outstanding respect for the game, and displayed an intensity and toughness that sets them apart from their fellow athletes.

The Brendan Joyce Coach of the Year Award is presented to one JET coach who has demonstrated positive implementation of the program’s Values and Standards both on and off the court. Their sportsmanship, positive relationships, and behaviour, within the greater Basketball Ballarat community have set them apart. They have worked to gain extended personal development through their studying  of the game, and through their on-court teaching have developed their Junior Elite Athletes along the State and/or National pathway.

Karen Ashby Junior Elite Rush GRIT Award – Annie Collins

Karen Ashby Junior Elite Miners GRIT Award – Jordan Kuzmich

And the Brendan Joyce Junior Elite Coach of the year Award – Lidina Constable

Tamara Westwood was award the Frank Allisey Volunteer of the year award for her continued support and work as a statistician on SEABL and Youth League game nights.

The Mount Avoca Club Service Award was presented to Pat Pitts who has worked tirelessly in many areas that have contributed to Basketball Ballarat, including SEABL game night Commissioner, Basketball Victoria Country Central Academy Administrator and as a local referee.

McDonalds Ballarat Youth League Rush had a tie in their voting with Claire Constable and Taylah Wynne both taking home the Bev Harwood Youth League Rush MVP.

Brandon Maplesden in his first year with the McDonalds Ballarat Youth League Ballarat Miners was awarded the Les Hotchin Youth League Miners MVP.

Claire Constable received a second award for the night being awarded the Rush Senior Program Encouragement Award, while Ross Weightman took  home the Miners Senior Program Encouragement Award.

The most prestigious Annual Award is the Dennis Foley Club Person  Award and this year it was presented to David Flint, acknowledging the contribution that Flint has given to the Club since he began coaching the Miners in 2013.

The night continued on with the Ballarat Skoda Rush awards. Ashleigh Spencer was rewarded for her consistent season being awarded the Dawn Jose Rush Coaches Award followed by first year Rush player Jaterra Bonds being presented with the Robyn Maher Rush MVP Award.

Before moving onto the Miners awards for the evening, Basketball Ballarat inducted their ninth member into their Hall of Fame – Robyn Maher. Robyn’s list of achievements are:


  • Ballarat Junior Representative Player 1970-1976,
  • Senior Representative Player 1976-78,Loyal local player with Exies Acmy
  • Rush MVP Award named in her honour
  • 369 WNBL Games and 10 Championships
  • Represented Australia at the ’84 ’88 ’92 &’96 Olympic Games
  • Won a Bronze Medal for Australia and was Team captain at the ’96 Olympic Games
  • World Championships team member from ’79 to ’98 and won a bronze medal in ’98 World Champs
  • WNBL Player of the year ’83 and ’87 and now has the WNBL Defensive Player of the Year Award named in her honour.

Following Robyn’s induction to the Hall of Fame, Eric Hayes closed the evening presenting his Brian Goorjian Miners Coaches Award to Cameron McCallum who has battled a number of injuries throughout the season but is the perfect team mate, and will do anything to help the team achieve the Championship. The Final award was the Ray Borner Miners MVP which was a very close vote resulting in Craig Moller edging out Peter Hooley and Marvin King-Davis.


For more information on the GMHBA Miners or Ballarat Rush please contact Elite Teams Administrator Melissa Thomas via 5330 7604 or Melissa.Thomas@ballaratbasketball.com