49th Annual General Meeting

Basketball Ballarat hosted its 49th Annual General Meeting at the Mars Minerdome last week.

This meeting had a special significance as it was the first full year of operation of the merged entities, Ballarat Basketball Association and Ballarat Basketball Club (BBC) and it was timely that this meeting saw the final merging together of the two entities when the Life Members of separate earlier Associations were elevated to full Life Member status of Basketball Ballarat.

To recognise the successful integration to one peak body Basketball Ballarat chose the occasion to transfer the Life Members of the Ballarat Basketball Club, the Ballarat Basketball Referees’ Association and the Married Women’s Basketball Association across to Life Membership in Basketball Ballarat.

Members recognised were Bernie Stone, Paul Tudorovic, Jeremy Johnson, Eric Cooks, Michael Dunne and Ian Newland from the BBC; Keith Warhurst posthumously from the Referees body and from the Married Women’s, Margaret Potter, Gail Nichols and Pauline Smeaton.

Chairman of Basketball Ballarat, David Stuchbery congratulated all on their induction and commented on the dedication shown by all in their respective areas and that all have continued to show interest in the operations and future of basketball in Ballarat. Mr Stuchbery commented that it was the dedication and leadership of such people that helped Basketball Ballarat become the successful body it is today.

In addition the Board of Basketball Ballarat proposed two current members as being worthy of being elected to Life Membership.  They were Di Nevett and Peter Cunningham and both nominations were endorsed by the meeting by acclamation.

Di’s career in basketball began at the age of 10 with Exies Acmy and has covered every aspect of the sport from playing at elite level, to extensive coaching across all levels, and to leading roles in administration.  As Exies current President she has harnessed the energies of all other Club Presidents to present constructive ideas to the BBA Board.  She was named as a member of the Lady Miners 20 year Anniversary Team.  Her love of the sport is unquestionable.

Peter  too has had a lifetime in basketball and following a successful playing career locally, his driving work has been in the coaching field, where his ability to understand and communicate the nuances of the game is second to none in Ballarat and many would argue it extends much further than that.  He has taken great pride in developing a Junior along the pathway of Vic Country teams through to the SEABL and National stage.

Both members have displayed the highest level of dedicated service and commitment to the sport from their very junior years through to the present day.  Both have been players, coaches and administrators and were warmly applauded when the announcements were made.

In other developments at the meeting, long-serving Board Vice-Chairman, Rhonda Cleveland did not seek re-election.  Her many achievements were highlighted to the meeting and the Board Chairman indicated the Boards gratitude for her work which will be more formally recognised at a later date.

Replacing her will be new Director Emma De Ruiter who was elected along with returning Directors Bill Powell and Milton Batch.

Key presentations to the Annual Meeting were made by Chairman David Stuchbery, Director of Major Projects Nick Grylewicz, Treasurer Kym Cassells, Manager of Athlete & Coach Development Nathan Cooper Brown and CEO Peter Eddy.

Basketball Ballarat_2015 Annual Report-web