NBL to Blitz Bendigo and Ballarat

The biggest names in Australian basketball will be on display in Bendigo and Ballarat for next month’s NBL Blitz.

The National Basketball League has partnered with the Victorian Government to bring its popular pre-season event to regional Victoria.

Bendigo Stadium will host four games of the NBL Blitz on September 20 with eight games at Ballarat Minerdome from September 22-23 with both cities to also host a range of community activities featuring NBL stars.

The announcement was made as Melbourne United prepared to take on the Sydney Kings in tonight’s pre-season game in front of a big crowd at Bendigo Stadium

NBL Chief Executive Jeremy Loeliger said: “We are very excited to once again bring the NBL Blitz to Victorian regional communities.

“I want to thank the Victorian Government for its support through its Significant Sporting Events Program and Regional Events Fund and we look forward to seeing fans come from far and wide to enjoy some world class basketball.

“The NBL Blitz will lead into the next round of NBL x NBA games in the USA starting on September 28 and then the start of the 2018-19 Hungry Jack’s NBL Season on October 11 in what is a very exciting time for Australian basketball.”

The Minister for Tourism and Major Events, John Eren, said: “I’m delighted to see our investment in regional stadiums is delivering for centres like Bendigo and Ballarat. We’ve locked in the upcoming Boomers v Kazakhstan FIBA World Cup Qualifier and now the NBL Blitz and what better way to inspire more young people to hit the hoops.”

In addition to 12 games across three days there will be a range of community activities at both venues including NBL clinics, game-day activations featuring 3x 3, wheelchair and Indigenous basketball and free entry to the day session games on Day 1 in Bendigo.

To buy tickets or more information about the NBL Blitz in Bendigo and Ballarat go to www.nbl.com.au/blitz

All games will be streamed on NBL TV.

Day 1 Bendigo Stadium

Day Time Home Away
Thursday 20 September 11:00 Illawarra Hawks Brisbane Bullets
Thursday 20 September 13:00 New Zealand Breakers Perth Wildcats
Thursday 20 September 17:30 Melbourne United Adelaide 36ers
Thursday 20 September 19:30 Sydney Kings Cairns Taipans

Day 2 Ballarat Minerdome

Day Time Home Away
Saturday 22 September 13:00 Cairns Taipans Perth Wildcats
Saturday 22 September 15:00 Sydney Kings Adelaide 36ers
Saturday 22 September 17:30 Illawarra Hawks New Zealand Breakers
Saturday 22 September 19:30 Melbourne United Brisbane Bullets


Day 3 Ballarat Minerdome

Day Time Home Away
Sunday 23 September 11:00 New Zealand Breakers Cairns Taipans
Sunday 23 September 13:00 Brisbane Bullets Sydney Kings
Sunday 23 September 15:30 Adelaide 36ers Perth Wildcats
Sunday 23 September 17:30 Melbourne United Illawarra Hawks