Ballarat announced as club of the year

Basketball Ballarat has been named the South East Australian Basketball League’s club of the year at the competition’s annual awards on Sunday.

The award took into account the club’s impressive attendance rate, fan engagement, social media presence and on court performance.

Story by Siobhan Calafiore at The Courier

Basketball Ballarat’s Melissa Thomas said it was fantastic recognition of all the hard work from the staff and volunteers.

The club made a conscious effort this year to improve its social media, resulting in greater fan engagement and awareness of Basketball Ballarat’s involvement in the community.

To cap off a weekend full of success, Ballarat GMHBA Miners stars Peter Hooley and Craig Moller were named as two of five players in the men’s competition to win the All-SEABL first team award following their dominant regular season performances.